Changing the IP-address of a ESX 4.0 host

I’m playing with vSphere 4.0 and am running that on my laptop within VMware workstation. So the configuration that I have is that I have 2 ESX servers and 1 Openfiler as my SAN. Problem is that where ever I go, it uses DHCP and I have to reconfigure the ESX hosts and the Openfiler so they can talk to each other.

For now I am changing the IP’s instead of using DHCP which will make it easier. I really need to put the Virtual swich back in place so it does not matter anymore.

Anyway here is how to set the IP and Gateway on the ESX servers.

esxcfg-vswif -i <ip add> -n <net mask> vswif0

Add the gateway in the below file,
/etc/sysconfig/network

add the line
GATEWAY=<gatewayip>

Restart the network service
#service network restart

Try this command to list the IPconfig
#esxcfg-vswif -l

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Archives
